Presidential Search

The Board of Visitors of Virginia Commonwealth University is conducting a search for VCU’s fifth president. President Eugene P. Trani will step down on June 30, 2009, after 19 years of a highly successful presidency that has seen VCU grow in size and stature.

The Board has established a 17-member search committee to be chaired by immediate past Rector, Edward H. Bersoff, Ph.D. The vice chair is Rosalyn Hobson, Ph.D., associate professor of electrical engineering and associate dean of graduate studies in the VCU School of Engineering. The university-wide committee consists of six members of the VCU Board of Visitors, five faculty members, two staff members, two students, one alumnus and one VCU Foundation member.

The Board and the search committee are assisted by Dr. Stephen Portch, adviser to the Board on the presidential transition and search, and a higher education search firm.

Learn more about the search committee »

Learn more about Dr. Stephen Portch »

Learn more about the search firm »

Learn more about the position of President »



The latest on the search