Presidential Search

Search committee members

The search committee includes:

Edward H. Bersoff, Ph.D. (board), chair, is the immediate past rector of the VCU Board of Visitors. He also is a member of the VCU Health System Board of Directors. Bersoff is the chairman, president and CEO of ATS Corporation, a publicly traded information technology company with headquarters in McLean, Va.

Rosalyn S. Hobson, Ph.D. (faculty), vice chair, is the associate dean for graduate studies and associate professor of electrical engineering in the VCU School of Engineering. Previously she served as a fellow at the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) as a higher education science and technology specialist.

George W. Burke III, M.D. (alumnus), is the immediate past president of the MCV Alumni Association of VCU. He is a 1970 graduate of the VCU School of Medicine and is in private practice with Pulmonary Associates of Richmond. Burke has served as the chair of the School of Medicine’s annual fund and on the 2005 search committee for the dean of the School of Medicine.

Delores Collier (staff) is the business and personnel manager for the School of Nursing. She serves as the alternate staff representative on the Board of Visitors, treasurer to the VCU Staff Senate and staff representative on the University Hearing Board and University Council.

Linda A. Corey, Ph.D. (faculty) is professor of human genetics and graduate program director in the Department of Human Genetics. She serves as vice president of the VCU Faculty Senate and as alternate Faculty Senate Representative to the Board of Visitors. Additionally, Corey serves on the task force that is evaluating policies related to corporate sponsored research at VCU.

Michael Edmond, M.D. (faculty) is professor of Internal Medicine, Epidemiology and Community Health. He also is chair of the Division of Infectious Diseases and serves as hospital epidemiologist for the VCU Health System. He received his master’s degree in Public Administration from VCU.

Catherine Howard, Ph.D. (faculty) is the vice provost for Community Engagement and associate professor in the Department of Psychology. She administers the university’s service-learning program and serves as the co-chair for the VCU Council for Community Engagement. She has co-chaired the VCU-Carver Partnership since its inception in 1996.

Olakunle Idowu (student) is a fourth-year medical student. He serves as a VCU School of Medicine Admissions Committee member. He also has served as M3 clerkship group leader, Class of 2009 curriculum representative, tour guide director and professional fair recruiter for the School of Medicine.

Malorie Janis (staff) is a public relations specialist with the VCU Office of Communications and Public Relations. She is a member of the VCU Staff Senate executive committee and the Staff Senate activities and events committee. Janis also is a member of the university’s equity and diversity committee.

Maurice A. Jones (board) is publisher of the Virginian-Pilot. Previously, he was the vice president and general manager of Landmark Communications and he is the former commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social Services. Jones also served as deputy chief of staff to Gov. Mark Warner.

Lillian Lincoln Lambert (board) is the president of LilCo Enterprises, Inc., where she provides consulting services to small businesses and serves as a speaker to business and women groups. She also is a member of the Board of Directors for the Harvard Business School African American Alumni Association.

Morgan McDowell (student) is a senior majoring in biology and psychology with a minor in chemistry. She serves as a senator and chief of staff to the Monroe Park Campus Student Government Association and student representative to the Student Health Advisory Committee.

Dan Ream (faculty) is associate professor and director of outreach and distance education for VCU Libraries. He is serving his second one-year term as president of the VCU Faculty Senate and also serves as the faculty representative on the VCU Board of Visitors.

Anne J. G. “Panny” Rhodes (board) is a former state delegate representing the 68th House District, which includes parts of the City of Richmond, Henrico County and the 7th Congressional District.  She is a founding trustee of the VCU School of Engineering Foundation.

Stuart C. Siegel (board) is chairman of S & K Famous Brands, Inc., a national retailer of brand name menswear. He is a former rector of the VCU Board of Visitors, former vice chairman of the VCU Foundation Board and a former board member of the MCV Hospital Authority.

Thomas G. Snead, Jr. (board) is former president and CEO of the Southeast Region for WellPoint, Inc. Previously, he served as president of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield’s Southeast region. He also is a member of the VCU Health System Board of Directors. Snead and his wife, Vickie, are VCU alumni and served as co-chairs of the Campaign for VCU.

Patricia Wilkerson (foundation) is president of the VCU Foundation Board and is former vice president and corporate secretary of Dominion Resources.  During her 30-year career with Dominion, Wilkerson held various professional and community leadership positions. She is a VCU graduate with a bachelor’s degree in mass communications.