Presidential Search

Meeting minutes
Presidential Search Committee

November 20, 2008

A meeting of the VCU Presidential Search Committee was held on Thursday, November 20, 2008, at 2 p.m. in the University Meeting Center located at 101 North Harrison Street in Richmond.

Present were Ed Bersoff (chair), George Burke, Delores Collier, Linda Corey, Michael Edmond, Rosalyn Hobson, Cathy Howard, Olakunle Idowu, Malorie Janis, Maurice Jones, Lillian Lambert, Morgan McDowell, Dan Ream, Panny Rhodes, Tom Rosenthal, Stuart Siegel, Tom Snead, and Patty Wilkerson. Also present were Karen Balmer, Jan Greenwood, and Steve Portch.

Dr. Bersoff called the meeting to order and on motion made and seconded, the Minutes of a Meeting held October 17, 2008, were approved.

On motion made and seconded, the Committee convened into closed session to discuss certain personnel and related matters involving the performance of identifiable employees or faculty of VCU, and to discuss the evaluation of performance of departments, schools or units of VCU where such evaluation will necessarily involve discussion of the performance of specific individuals, including discussion and consideration of prospective candidates for employment and matters related thereto, as authorized by Section 2.2-3711 A(1) of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.

Following closed session, on motion made and seconded, the following resolution was approved by roll call vote:

Vir­ginia Commonwealth University hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were dis­cussed in the closed session meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session meet­ing were heard, discussed or considered by the Board of Visitors of Virginia Common­wealth University.

Roll Call Vote Ayes Nays
Dr. Edward H. Bersoff, Chair X  
Mr. Maurice A. Jones X  
Ms. Lillian L. Lambert X  
Mrs. Anne J. G. “Panny” Rhodes X  
Mr. Stuart C. Siegel X  
Mr. Thomas G. Snead, Jr. X  
Mr. Thomas G. Rosenthal, Rector X  


Ayes: 7
Nays: 0


The Presidential Search Committee will conduct the final town hall meeting following the Committee meeting, from 3:30-5 p.m., in Richmond Salons 1 and 2 of the University Student Commons.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:15 p.m.


Back to minutes list »